Jason Stephens | June 19, 2023 | Truck Accidents
Different states have different requirements for commercial trucks, and Texas is no exception. This is because trucks can potentially cause massive damage, including death. This article will divulge the insurance requirements for commercial trucks operating in Texas so you can properly adhere to the law.
Proof of Liability Insurance
Texas law states that all trucking companies must carry proof of liability insurance for each registered vehicle. This type of insurance protects them if someone is hurt or property is damaged by one of their trucks.
Minimum Insurance Coverage Requirements
While the mandate for carrying liability insurance is fairly straightforward, the threshold for minimum coverage depends on the type of truck and the nature of its cargo. This section will explore some of the different types of trucks and cargo against their insurance requirements.
Trucks Carrying Under 26,000 Pounds
If the truck in question is transporting household items weighing less than 26,000 lbs, Texas law mandates a minimum of $300,000 in liability insurance. However, this only applies within the state of Texas.
If the truck is transporting the goods outside of the state, it must comply with the regulations set forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). According to these regulations, if the cargo weighs over 10,000 lbs, the company must have a minimum of $750,000 in liability insurance.
Trucks Carrying Over 26,000 Pounds
Trucks carrying over 26,000 lbs of household goods must have a minimum of $500,000 of liability insurance. This applies to state and federal law. The FMCSA requirements remain the same since the total weight exceeds 10,000 lbs.
Trucks Carrying Hazardous Materials
Texas and federal law mandate trucks carrying any type of hazardous materials have a minimum of $5,000,000 worth of liability insurance. Depending on the nature of the substance, additional insurance might be mandatory.
Trucks Carrying Oil
Although it could be deemed a hazardous material, the law is a little different for trucks carrying oil. These trucks must carry a minimum of $1,000,000 in liability coverage under both Texas and FMCSA regulations.
Truck Driver Insurance Requirements
If the driver is an independent contractor, they are required to carry their own liability insurance policy. This means the company is not required to provide one for them. On the other hand, if they are employed by a trucking company, they are usually covered under its insurance policy.
If you have questions as to whether you are covered, always check with your employer. Never assume you are covered.
If You Are in a Commercial Truck Accident in Texas
If you are involved in an accident with a commercial truck, it may be more beneficial to seek compensation from the trucking company’s insurance policy. These policies are generally much larger, making it easier to recover damages. However, this depends on a variety of other factors and should never be assumed.
If you get into a truck accident, try to remain calm and take photos of everything. These will come in handy later on when you need to provide evidence of the accident. Additionally, make sure to obtain a copy of the police report and always seek medical attention. This creates a paper trail that can be followed in the event of litigation.
Texas Commercial Truck Insurance Laws
If you are involved in an accident with a commercial truck in Texas, you may be eligible for compensation. Understanding Texas’s insurance requirements for commercial trucks will enable you to take appropriate action following an accident.
Contact Our Truck Accident Law Firm in Fort Worth, TX
If you’ve been injured in an accident in Fort Worth and need legal help, contact our Fort Worth truck accident lawyers at Stephens Law Personal Injury | Wrongful Death | Truck Accidents to schedule a free consultation.
Stephens Law Personal Injury | Wrongful Death | Truck Accidents
1300 S University Dr # 406
Fort Worth, TX 76107