If you are a motorcycle rider, you couldn’t ask for a better place to do it than Fort Worth, Texas. With wide-open roadways and cultural landmarks galore, Texas is a great place to ride.
However, before you take off on a long road trip in Texas, you need to know the motorcycle laws you must follow.
These laws can help you avoid costly tickets and help you know what to do in case of a motorcycle accident. If you need any additional assistance, reach out to the Fort Worth motorcycle accident lawyers with Stephens Law.
And if you’ve recently been involved in a motorcycle accident, our attorneys can help you obtain compensation from the responsible party. We offer a free, no-obligation consultation to go over your case. Contact or call Stephens Law at (817) 420-7000 today.
Table of Contents
How Stephens Law Can Help With Your Motorcycle Accident Case in Fort Worth, Texas
Unfortunately, motorcyclists often suffer the brunt of the harm when they’re involved in a crash in Fort Worth, TX. Even abiding by all of the motorcycle laws in Texas cannot completely eliminate one’s chances of being involved in an accident.
Our Fort Worth motorcycle accident attorneys can help, with more than 20 years of combined experience in the field and over $100 million collected for deserving personal injury victims. Hiring Stephens Law means you’ll have a personal injury law firm to help with:
- Investigating your case to nail down the full extent of your damages
- Handling all of the negotiations with the other party on your behalf
- Bringing your case to court and even before a jury at trial if necessary
To begin forming an attorney-client relationship, reach out to our law office today.
An Overview of the Law Regarding Motorcycles in Texas
To stay safe and legal as a motorcycle rider in Texas, there are a number of laws that you must comply with. These will be discussed in detail below.
You Must Have a Motorcycle Endorsement
A regular driver’s license does not give you the legal right to operate a motorcycle in Texas. Instead, you must obtain a Class M driver’s license. This rule applies to operating the following types of vehicles:
- Three-wheeled motorcycles
- Motor-driven cycles
To obtain this type of motorcycle, you must generally pass a written test and a road test. You must also pass a motorcycle operator training course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation.
You May Be Required To Wear a Helmet
Motorcyclists and passengers under age 21 must wear a Department of Transportation-approved helmet. Individuals age 21 or older are exempt from the helmet requirement if they have completed a Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation-approved motorcycle operator training course or show they have at least $10,000 in medical insurance. Riders must keep a copy of their medical insurance card while riding the bike.
Texas police are not allowed to stop a motorcyclist simply to determine whether the motorcyclist meets the exemption to not wear a helmet.
The Motorcycle Must Have Certain Equipment
Motorcycles in Texas must have certain equipment to be legal and driveable, including:
- A vehicle identification number
- A headlamp (modulating permitted)
- A tail lamp
- A stop lamp
- A license plate lamp
- A rear red reflector
- An exhaust system
- Wheel assembly
- A horn
You must also keep your motorcycle in good working condition.
You Have To Follow Laws Regarding Passengers
Texas has certain rules pertaining to motorcycle passengers. One is that no passenger under the age of five can ride on a motorcycle, although they can ride in a sidecar. Passengers under the age of 21 must wear a helmet. To ride as a passenger, the motorcycle must be equipped with a permanent passenger seat.
You Cannot Lane Split
Many motorcyclists “lane split,” a practice in which they pass stopped or slow-moving traffic by traveling between lanes of traffic. Lane splitting is illegal in Texas.
Your Motorcycle Must Be Inspected Every Year
Texas requires all vehicles licensed in the state to pass a yearly inspection at an official Motor vehicle Inspection Station. This requirement also applies to motorcycles. Upon receiving the certificate of completion, the motorcycle owner must place the certificate near the rear license plate.
You Must Maintain Insurance
Motorcyclists must maintain adequate insurance, which includes a minimum of liability insurance in the following amounts:
- $30,000 per person injured in an accident
- $60,000 for more than one person injured in an accident
- $25,000 of property damage
Motorcyclists may be asked to show proof of insurance when registering their vehicle, during the inspection, or when obtaining a driver’s license in Texas.
You Must Register Your Motorcycle
You must register your motorcycle with the County Tax-Assessor Collector. Your registration sticker must be affixed to your license plate.
You Must Legally Park Your Motorcycle
You are responsible for legally parking your motorcycle when it is not in use. Rules regarding parking include:
- Do not park in a disabled parking space unless you have a disabled windshield placard or license plate.
- Do not park in striped areas, including those adjacent to a handicapped parking space or in front of a business entrance adjacent to a parking space.
- Do not park on sidewalks.
Violating these rules can cost you parking fines and having your bike towed away.
You Must Follow Other Traffic Rules
Motorcyclists must follow traffic rules that apply to other drivers, as well as those outlined in the Motorcycle Operator Training Manual.
Contact Our Fort Worth Motorcycle Accident Lawyers for Help
Unfortunately, even if you follow all motorcycle laws in Texas, you may still find yourself hurt in a motorcycle accident. If you were hurt in a motorcycle accident in Texas, an experienced Fort Worth motorcycle accident lawyer with Stephens Law can help.
We have worked firsthand with injury victims and know how life-altering a motorcycle accident can be. We are here to help you and your family through this difficult time. We can help you fight for the compensation you need to cover medical bills, repairs to your bike, lost wages, and other losses you suffer. You can learn more about how we can help when you call us at (817) 420-7000 and schedule a free case review.